Skip to main content

How Do I....: Articles

How do I find articles on a subject?

You have 2 different starting points for finding an article on a subject

  1. Subject & Class Guides: Databases recommended for a subject are available from this link. Select a recommended database and search for articles on your subject. 
     
  2. Databases & Articles: All databases are available from this link. Select a database and search for articles on your subject. 


Need help? Ask-A-Librarian

How do I find an article if I have a citation?

If you have the article name, publication name, and date you have 2 choices for looking-up the article
 

  1. Electronic Journals: From this link, search publication title to determine if it is included in one of Griswold Library's databases.

    Citation Linker: Type in the article title, journal title, and publication year to be linked directly to the article.
     

Need help? Ask-A-Librarian

How do I find a peer reviewed article?

Step 1: Search for articles
Select a database and search for your topic.

Step 2: Filter your results
Limit your results to scholarly journals. Many (but not all) databases will have a filter to remove magazines, newspapers, and other non-scholarly sources from your search.


Step 3: Examine the article

Look for the characteristics identified below. Articles that contain these characteristics are likely to have been peer-reviewed.

  • Author Affiliation
  • Abstract
  • Specific Structure
  • Specialized Writing
  • References

Why do I need to do this? The filtered results from step 2 contain all the contents from a scholarly journal including works that may not have peer-reviewed such as book reviews, commentaries, or opinion pieces. Examining the article for common peer-review characteristics will help you distinguish peer-reviewed articles from those that have not gone through this process.

Library Help

chat loading...

(802)287-8226 phone
(802)227-0222 text message
library@greenmtn.edu